San Antonio Review

Obligatory disclaimer up front: this review doesn't include everybody I was able to catch, and I ended up spending way more time in the lot than I had intended (and I have the sunburn to prove it). So I didn't catch nearly as many of the earlier corps as I would have liked. Not gonna happen next year, but that's next year, not this year. So, without further ado...

Genesis As a Sky vet, I freely admit my bias here, but that show gave me goose bumps, particularly the opening hit. Genesis, thank you thank you THANK YOU for your memorial to Sky.

Spirit The "Speakeasy" theme fits them like a glove. And they have some screamers this year in the trumpet line. They're easily a lock for finals. The middle-of-the-pack corps are so outstanding anymore. It's become a cliché, but it is so true that a lot of the units fighting to make the top 12 today could have contended for the top six even ten years ago.

Blue Knights This could be their strongest show in five years. Whoever did the color design on their guard equipment deserves particular praise. This is one of the visually beautiful shows on the field this year.

Troopers A very strong hornline, but the visual program doesn't have the level of difficulty or precision to make finals. However, I think they did a good job of modernizing their classic Western style.

Bluecoats A very strong showing from Bloo. The bleachers used throughout the program seem like the sort of thing Blue Stars should have done in 2011: good props, but mobile. The unis are great, too, but I don't think they're terribly photogenic: they might be a bit better in person than in pictures. Also, they might be the kind of thing the Academy should have considered (sorry, but I still don't like their tuxes).