Building Left Hand Chops

(Intended for drummers, but there's always a good discussion on DCP :cool:)

For those of you who either don't know me or forget me (my bad; haven't been active on here for WAY too long), I'm a snare drummer. I'm planning on going for a corps for the 2015 season (still don't know which one yet). But I'm faced with the dreaded traditional grip left hand weakness. I'm right handed, so that doesn't help.

I need to build some pretty major chops in all of my left hand, but I mainly want to focus on the index finger and building strength there. Does anybody have any tips/tricks/exercises etc. for building the left hand?

• Like 1

(Intended for drummers, but there's always a good discussion on DCP :cool:)

For those of you who either don't know me or forget me (my bad; haven't been active on here for WAY too long), I'm a snare drummer. I'm planning on going for a corps for the 2015 season (still don't know which one yet). But I'm faced with the dreaded traditional grip left hand weakness. I'm right handed, so that doesn't help.

I need to build some pretty major chops in all of my left hand, but I mainly want to focus on the index finger and building strength there. Does anybody have any tips/tricks/exercises etc. for building the left hand?

you might get more in the percussion threads. Just a suggestion . Good Luck

Yes, this is what we did when I marched to build left hand chops. All the exercises you know, start with the left hand leading off, and your goal is to match the quality of sound you have with the right hand leading off. It feels weird to start with the left, but do that a lot. Alternate one time right, one time left so you can hear the difference. It helps. Other than that, hours of drumming, but leading with the left is something that works.

Edited by JKT90
  • Like 1