Thinking about where to audition in 2018...

Hello, everyone. I'm sure many of you who come to DCP regularly remember me. I'm here to say that I am really interested in joining a drum corps beginning in the 2018 season.

So a little bit about me. I'm a horn player who has played mellophone for my high school's marching band for 5 years, where we won 2 division championships in state competition, and was a featured soloist in my final year. I'm originally from the Buffalo, New York area. I'm now a college freshman at a smallish public school with a fantastic music program. My major is currently horn performance, but I won't rule out music ed. I could start doing DCI this coming year, but I'm taking the summer off because of my age (will be 18 in October, so I'm on the younger side of my class) and also I want to prepare myself for adulthood by working on FINALLY getting my driver's license and maybe having a summer job.

The problem is, I don't know where to go for my first DCI audition. At first, I was thinking of an up-and-coming corps like the Legends, whose last two shows were each one of my favorites from the season. But then I thought that because I'm so good in terms of music (maybe not quite visual, but I'll rise to the challenge), Legends might be too easy for me and I should challenge myself by going for a corps like Blue Stars, Phantom Regiment, the Cavaliers, heck, even the reigning World Champion Bluecoats. So my question is, does the corps that you audition for really make that big of a difference, World or Open? And is it really better for me to challenge myself against hundreds of applicants rather than join a corps where it's more likely you'll be contracted? Also, does location really matter? Should I consider expanding my horizons to include corps like Troopers or even SCV?

Thanks in advance! Your honesty and encouragement are appreciated.