How to choose: Internship vs. Age out

I'm a third year in college (studying business), going in to what would be my age out year of drum corps. I have an internship offer at a Big Four accounting firm for the summer of 2017. Between internship opportunities, my parents, and my own ambitions as a musician, I am incredibly torn on choosing what avenue to follow for my summer. I'm worried to turn down the offer for fear of not having it available again next year. Most third year business majors get internships which turn into full time offers immediately after interning, where I'm from. I'm worried that by not taking this offer, I will be setting myself back career wise and miss out on setting myself up for success in the professional world. If there is anyone who has ever faced a similar dilemma in choosing between an internship/advancing your career or marching, please leave your feedback here.

The Big Four internship is meaningful, arguably more so if you are an accounting major than if you are in finance or, perhaps, business technology. And good for you: That third year internship is important, and there is a lot of competition for a Big Four spot.

That said, from your vantage point as an undergraduate it looks somewhat more critical for your career than it needs to be. Much, much about what you do in your career - in those first few years, yes, but especially once you are no longer entry level - is in your hands to shape as you want. Circumstance matters, and your own skills, critical thinking, and adaptability matter, too. Still, you have some good control that can overcome something like not having a traditional internship, if that's what you choose.

Certainly, there is a way to tell the drum corps story that will be appealing to many employers. They see hundreds of students with conventional stories; you have a chance to stand out. Some of those employers crave the conventional, because it is safe. But some, correctly, look deeper. And wider.