Better late than never!  

I've been meaning to write this review for a couple days, but life got in the way. Just to put a disclaimer out there, these are my opinions on how I see things, and I could totally be way off base. If you feel differently, tell me! That's what is so great about this forum is the variety of ways that shows are interpreted and how we view our favorites, etc.. I have 2 years of marching experience, some college music background, and I have actively followed this activity since 2004. I am generally open to change in drum corps and welcome new innovations, but I have been frustrated lately with a trend toward amplifying everything.  These are my thoughts on Drums Along the Rockies.

The weather was perfect!  The rain was gone by 7:00 and it made for a nice, cool evening. The performers seemed to hang in there just fine with the high altitude, and there was no wind to affect guard work whatsoever.

Columbians - Unfortunately, I did not make it to my seat in time to see their last show of the season. I was pretty bummed about this, there was a huge line to get in the gate.  I heard a rumor that the doors didn't open until 6:30 and there was quite a bit of grumbling in line.  From what I heard on the concourse, they did a great interpretation of Adagio, and their brass sound was very mature.

The Battalion - These guys surprised me!  They had a great show and a good implementation of show design. I was surprised at how clean they were at this stage, it's a shame they don't have more time to clean and tweak up until Open Class finals. I think this group has a solid foundation and great instruction.  I hope both the Columbians and Battalion can expand their tour soon, as fresh corps are always a good thing in Open Class competition.