Sign in to follow this  
rpbobcat

DCI/DCA

Recommended Posts

rpbobcat    12

Was wondering.

Is there any rule that, if someone  marched with a DCI corps,they couldn't march with a DCA corps after the DCI season was over ?

 

Edited by rpbobcat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
CrownBariDad    2,392
Just now, rpbobcat said:

Was wondering.

If there any rule  that someone who marched with a DCI corps,couldn't march with a DCA corps after the DCI season was over ?

 

I think there is a discussion on this (possibly buried in another thread -- sorry) over in the DCA forum.  As I understand it, it's done frequently.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Stu    1,133
20 minutes ago, rpbobcat said:

Was wondering.

Is there any rule that, if someone  marched with a DCI corps,they couldn't march with a DCA corps after the DCI season was over ?

 

If memory serves, back in 2007 or 2008 Paul Rennick was working with the DCA group the Vigilantes when he brought a lot of Phantom Regiment drummers with him after DCI finals to perform with the Vigilantes a few weeks later at DCA finals.

Edited by Stu

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Spandy    297
9 minutes ago, rpbobcat said:

Was wondering.

Is there any rule that, if someone  marched with a DCI corps,they couldn't march with a DCA corps after the DCI season was over ?

 

There is not a rule against it. There used to be a rule regarding the number of members a DCA corps could add after DCI season ended, but that has since been nixed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Fran Haring    4,474
2 hours ago, Spandy said:

There is not a rule against it. There used to be a rule regarding the number of members a DCA corps could add after DCI season ended, but that has since been nixed.

That sums up the whole thing, in a nutshell.

I know it's been mentioned elsewhere... but in 1981 Joe Gaudett (who later served as chief of police for Bridgeport, CT) won the DCI title with Santa Clara Vanguard... then won the DCA title with CT Hurricanes.   That's a pretty good summer!!! 

Edited by Fran Haring
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
corps8294    709

Back in the early '80s there was always a big rumor that the Phantom Regiment Cadets would load up with some members of the A corps for CCI. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
George Dixon    7,349
23 hours ago, rpbobcat said:

Was wondering.

Is there any rule that, if someone  marched with a DCI corps,they couldn't march with a DCA corps after the DCI season was over ?

 

nope happens all the time

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jeff Ream    7,774

Happened before dci as DCA went later

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
MikeRapp    2,391

If I recall, a lot of Cadets marched the final stretch for Cadets 2 the last two seasons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Kamarag    5,109

We had one member who came off the tour to fill a bari hole the last two weeks this year. He played tuba with Cadets (but is also a multi-year Cabs alum). It's always a hard call if you have holes late...fill them asap, or hold them for a DCI vet? The advantage to filling asap is you get the new guy more time on the field. But DCI vets, particularly from top 12 corps, can fill those hole *very* quickly and be very proficient immediately.

Obviously, we'd rather be full all summer, but when things do happen, it's nice to have a couple of experienced folks in you pocket it you need them. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.