Key changes - can anyone help a drummer?

RickCogley

I'm curious - I heard one of the reasons for the switch to Bb was the fact that you can do key changes. Did anyone fully use the capabilities of their Bb horns last year?

ALso, for what its worth as a drummer, I did notice a change in the sound after I started listening more carefully. I kind of tend to like the G bugle sound.

I noticed a difference also in a 1965 Royal Airs  recording, the various chords they were doing sounded in tune with each other but sometimes they did not sound in tune with the next chord in the sequence. Is that a function of the bugle technology (rotary?) back then? I mean, to sound that good on a bugle limited by a lack of valves to assist the players to produce the right pitches is quite the accomplishment.

Regards

Rick

Switching between all 12 major keys has been possilbe since the 3 valve rule change in 1990.  We usually stick to certain keys because of where they land on the fingers (ie. easier finger patterns) and their sonority.  Switching keys isn't a factor as far as switching to Bb's b/c that was possilbe with the G's.  BTW...Bb hornlines aren't all playing Bb...the mellophone is usually in F.

You're not alone in hearing a difference between Bb lines and G lines.  Different keyed horns have different sonorities...that is a fact.  The best reason I like for switching to Bb...quality of horns.  The horns come from the plant in better shape than most bugles do.  And with their resale value, it's easier to replace a Bb line every few years.