Advice On How To Get On Staff With A Corps

Hello! Everyone

I'm Elizabeth Ortiz. I have a big question for all you DCI Instructors and Caption Heads. I'm currently a Undergraduate Double Major in Music Education & Percussion with a Minor in Composition. And was starting to look into for a opportunity to start teaching a corps! I would like some advice or suggestion on how to search that that job and etc.

B) :beer: :)

Well for me, I taught with the corps that I marched with. However since you have some band experience, I would try to contact anyone you know who is affliated with a drum corps. I would consider Div 2/3 if I was you to. I know the Blue Stars hire staff interns each summer who shadow current staff and get to know a bit about the operations of the corps. Try visiting their website and contacting their director Greg Struve.

As for Divison 1. Most techs for any section have either some Division 1 marching experience or a few years with a top corps in Division 2/3. Many Caption heads and writters in Div 1, have been in the activity for years and often work in faculty's of music at the university/college level. This is just my thoughts....anyone have any other insight?

Hello! Everyone

I'm Elizabeth Ortiz. I have a big question for all you DCI Instructors and Caption Heads. I'm currently a Undergraduate Double Major in Music Education & Percussion with a Minor in Composition. And was starting to look into for a opportunity to start teaching a corps! I would like some advice or suggestion on how to search that that job and etc.

B)  :beer:  :)

Ask.

Seriously, just contact some corps and ask. That's what I did-- and look at me now! I'm the arranger for a defunct corps!

Hello! Everyone

B)  :beer:  :)