Dynasty or Yamaha Contras.

TommySopranoContra

Ok I know that Dynasty is much heavier than Yamaha Contras.

But is there a quality difference?

Blue Devils use Dynasty ones and I think they're like 25-28 lbs (I think) and The Cadets and The Cavaliers use Yamaha ones that are 18 lbs.

Anyone know or notice a sound difference? I've only played off Yamahas by the way.

the DEG/Dynasy is much easier to produce a nice soft sound and you can never seem to play to loud on that horn. The weight difference is a factor, but as always it comes to who you have a corporate deal with.

don't forget about the King as well with its fourth valve that's use by the left hand. (PR, CC, SW, BK)

Ohh. I've never used a 4 valve tuba/contra before. Hard to learn?

the fourth valve adds more range to the tuba (down a 5th) so that more notes can be played.....the dynastys are 4 valves as well, depending on which one you buy

I am not a tuba player myself (horn major) but one of my friends is a tuba major that teaches a high school band that uses 4-valve dynasty tubas. I know he doesn't care for them, as far as sound and durability go. Either way, take my advise, as a horn player, with a grain of salt.

there are two different 4 valve tuba models available from dynasty.

A 4/4 sized horn:

010-M875big.jpg

and a 5/4 sized horn:

010-M880big.jpg

the larger horn (5/4) is the horn that the Blue Devils use. I have much experience on this horn and can tell you that it produces a big and full sound and if you have decent chops, it can be played to very high volume levels without losing tone or intonation.

The smaller dynasty horn does not sound nearly as good as the bigger horn. The 5/4 horn is essentially a Wilson tuba w/ a dynasty stamp on the bell, which helps to explain the better quality of sound over the 4/4 horn.