Bugles VS Trumpets

LSU GRAD 82

Can some of you tell me why most of the top corps have switched to trumpets. What prompted the change? What was wrong with Bugles? ( I'm a drummer )

Can some of you tell me why most of the top corps have switched to trumpets. What prompted the change? What was wrong with Bugles? ( I'm a drummer )

the subject is a can of worms to some.

corps used to play bugles (assorted configurations) in the key of G. Then the rules changed so they could play "any key" instruments which means Bb and F. So then all the corps switched to marching band instruments and away from G bugles.

advantage: Trumpets are easy to come by, they are in Bb, and they have good intonation and the instruments tend to be better quality.

disadvantage: the sound is too directional and too bright. the quality of a good G bugle is still not as good as a lower-end professional trumpet.

the subject is a can of worms to some.

corps used to play bugles (assorted configurations) in the key of G. Then the rules changed so they could play "any key" instruments which means Bb and F. So then all the corps switched to marching band instruments and away from G bugles.

advantage: Trumpets are easy to come by, they are in Bb, and they have good intonation and the instruments tend to be better quality.

disadvantage: the sound is too directional and too bright. the quality of a good G bugle is still not as good as a lower-end professional trumpet.

I don't know. All those Drum and BUGLE Corps sounded pretty good to my ear. This is not marching Symphony/Wind Ensemble. Or, is it?

I don't know. All those Drum and BUGLE Corps sounded pretty good to my ear. This is not marching Symphony/Wind Ensemble. Or, is it?

Really, don't even go there.

For some odd reason, modern corps have sought to toss tradition aside and go with trumpets. Now, with that accomplished those same folk are trying to get aluminum bats in major league baseball. Nothing is sacred to them.