never marched, but would love to one day

Hey guys!

My name is Rachel and like the topic title says, I've never actually marched. The reason I'm here is that I accidentally wandered across drum corps on facebook and began to look into it from there. It looks really really interesting and I've been playing the french horn for 4 years now and so I thought there might be the slightest possibility I could get involved, but the major hurdle is.... I live in australia. Still, I could always take a gap year from university some time (i'm 17 now, leaving high school) and give an audition a go, but before I make some sort of gargantuan effort to make it into a drum corps first try, I think I should get a better idea of the sort of experience drum corps actually is. So here I am. Anyone want to help?

There's not really much in the way of marching bands over here, I can only find one within 30 km of me, so any info on marching in general would be helpful too.

Marching isn’t all that hard once you get the hang of it. I agree with you that it would be relatively hard to move to the United States to participate in a Drum Corp. I have never been in Drum Corp either because I’m in high school. I’m in my high school marching band. I’ll tell you about that sometime later as I’m at school right now. You can email me at thelonelysnare@yahoo.com.

awwww, thanks lonelysnare! so yeah, about marching. how do you rehearse? like is it done indoors and only the last few rehearsals done marching?

awwww, thanks lonelysnare! so yeah, about marching. how do you rehearse? like is it done indoors and only the last few rehearsals done marching?

Ohhh nononononononooooo!!

Here's the schedule we had when i was in Blue Devils in 84 (as best I can remember it):