Why doesn't anybody like the 8" tenor drum?

LuvsPAisTe

Why do most tenor clusters go from a 6" (sometimes two 6" drums) right to the 10"? I've even seen some tenors sets with two 10" or two 12" but forego the 8" drum? What gives? I like the sound of 8" drums. Am I alone?

Why do most tenor clusters go from a 6" (sometimes two 6" drums) right to the 10"? I've even seen some tenors sets with two 10" or two 12" but forego the 8" drum? What gives? I like the sound of 8" drums. Am I alone?

At the Bushwackers, our tenors are 6, 8, 10, 12, 12, 13 with the 6 and 8 as spocks. might be 2 10s instead of 2 12's. what do i know, i'm a bass drummer!

Related discussion here. The consensus seems to be that the 8" drum is ineffective as a 'spock' per se due to lack of projection, but if used as a tonal extension to the 10-12-13-14 etc. it can be put to good use. I believe BAC and BD are using the 6"-8" spock setups this year. It was also pointed out that dual 6" spocks can be used for heavy, double stop accents for high volume.

• 4 weeks later...

I'm not sure why but I never really liked the sound of the 8" drum on a set of tenors.I dont like the way the 8" looks either. Kind of a "baby tenor" thing going on. But you never know there might be some wacky tuning scheme that fits the 8" drum. I also like using the dual 6" "shots" as two diffrent voices.(one high one low) :huh:

LuvsPAisTe

Posted on Jun 16 2003, 05:58 PM

Why do most tenor clusters go from a 6" (sometimes two 6" drums) right to the 10"?

Personally, I am not sure why no one marches a Timbales Line. Talk about projection!

And I'm with you Bro, I love paisties as well. They remind me of this "dancer" I knew, and whew, talk about projection!

Oh, wait, cymbals? Well they're OK too, I guess.

:huh:

Jeff Banyots

(I didn't want to demean this discussion, I just couldn't resist the chance at levity)