Should my 14 year-old march

I have been a devoted fan of the activity for 25 years and honestly my wife has never gotten into it. I took my son to a show last year and loved it. He went to an open house and essentially has a spot for a lower tier world class corps. My wife is VERY nervous about him spending all of this time away being the youngest kid in the corps at 14. What do you guys have to offer? Is she right to be very nervous and am I letting the fan in me get the best or not?

I didn't know that I should say what corps it is or not.

I started when I was 11 and it was the best thing that I ever did. I became much more confidant, independent and outgoing and since drum corps was contingent on getting good grades - I made sure that I studied hard too.

Even today - I can see how drum corps changed my life and and that I wouldn't be where I am today or have the career that I have without it.

So that would be a BIG "YES" from me.

Later,

Mike

• Like 5

The best thing you can do is talk to the corps director and your son's prospective caption head. Also, you would be well-served by doing some independent research on the corps. Just be careful to not take rumor as fact. If your son is fully bought in on the hard work it is going to take, he will have a great summer (which will hopefully lead to a long, rewarding drum corps career). Just be sure he knows what he is getting into.

• Like 2

I have made it perfectly clear the work, although I never marched. I have never seen him work so much on his horn as when he decided to switch from trombone to baritone 10 days before the open house. I am pretty familiar with the corps and I am aware of no issues past or present with them. I will be helping at the next camp, in part to get a feel for that corps and to talk to people in the corps.

Thanks for your reply.

• Like 1