Woodburn, Vancouver, Seattle - The Announcer

I wanted to offer some additional commentary on part the thread that was previously here (before the big crash) regarding the announcer at the 3 Nortwest shows I attended: Woodburn, Vancouver, Seattle.

I've been attending DCI shows for 25 years, Northwest shows for about 15 years, have two kids in corps, and marched myself a (very long) time ago.

While I appreciate and respect that this gentleman is an avid drum corps supporter, and has been announcing at shows for over a decade, these qualifications do not make him a good announcer. I appreciate and support all that he may have done and continues to do for the activity, particularly in the Northwest where drum corps been lean for a number of years.

He is, however, by my estimation a very poor announcer, and represents the activity badly.

- First, he announced three shows in four nights with the same six corps. Each and every night he read the same 100-word or so standard DCI paragraph about the activity, and every night he butchered it. It really seemed he hadn't taken the time to read it ahead of time to even understand what it said.

- Second, each and every night he mispronounced a significant number of the kids' names - the same names each night, each time with a different very wrong pronunciation. For a drum-major, hearing your name announced before the show is an important recognition. Hearing it mangled three shows in a row in front of your parents, friends, and peers is frustrating at best.

- Third, each and every night he mispronounced (badly) the names of the composers, pieces, and shows. These are pronunciations which are readily accessible and well known.