So many corps, so little time

Hola! I'm a mellophone player in Pembroke Pines, Florida (Southern Florida). I remember watching DCI when I joined my school's marching band, and being completely blown away. Some of my favorite corps include Spirit of Atlanta, The Academy, Spartans, SCV, and Phantom Regiment. I'm still wondering what corps would be best for me (i'm 14 and a freshman in high school), and what I can do to be a stronger player. Any suggestions?

• Like 1

Ethan,

I am a drummer, but I have been around young musicians for a long time. I don't know what the background of your band instructors is. Sometimes everyone comes from a reed and or string background, but if someone at your school has a brass background it wouldn[t hurt to ask for help, IMO. Pembroke Pines was the home of a superb Drum Corps, Suncoast Sound. Try a Google search to see if any of their brass alumni are in the area and teaching.

Lots of folks on this site who know a lot more than I do, so stay connected.When it comes to picking a Corps to audition for, I guess you would have to follow your heart. I wouldn't rule out Teal Sound to begin with right now. They may have openings - still a long commute for a youngster, then moving up to Spirit, but I can understand the position that if everyone leaves their starting Corps to move up, how will they get any better.

Good luck and much success

Kevin Doherty

Ethan,

Forgot to mention that a top 6 Corps I am familiar with only considers kids 18 and older, usually in college and usally music majors. They are not one of the Corps you listed, but you may want to look up the membership pages for each of the Corps you mentioned.

You may have to start in a Corps that accepts younger members before moving up. Also there are all-age Corps who accept High School age members. Look around on the DCA site.