SCVC Audition 2015

Hello there, I am a new member on the forum. I hope I am posting this in the right area. Hopefully a forum moderator can help me if I am posting this in the incorrect part of the forum.

I am 17, and from Southern California. I have been playing sax for 8 years and just picked up baritone at the start of this summer. I really, really want to make Vanguard Cadets for the 2015 season and was looking for some tips and help to achieve my goal.

First of all, is it a reasonable goal to audition for Vanguard Cadets with only a few months' experience on the horn?

Also, I am aware that I am posting this a few months earlier than most would start considering auditions, but I really want to maximize my chance of making the corps.

What can I do to help make it at auditions?

Would it be possible to find a carpool to get to auditions in San Jose?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Firstly, Its never unreasonable to not try out, you'll never get in if you never try! You can still learn tons of things at the camp, even if you don't make it. There are many ways you can prepare yourself and its never too early to practice for your audition.

-Stretch, workout, go on a run, etc. Drum corp is a physically demanding activity, better be in shape!

-Practice your music. It may help to get a lessons, but I'm sure a friend or your band director could help you improve musically.

-Research and watch videos on their technique, it may not be a bad idea too get a headstart, practice, and even record yourself and compare.