Snare Drum Heads for Nice Corps Sound?

KingGreGre

Hello all,

First, I apologize for two things, first is forgive me if I've started this thread in the wrong category on the forums, I'm very new here. Second, is forgive me if my questions sound ridiculous, I'm new to the world of percussion/corps drumlines.

Anyway, I have some questions.

I'm Greg, and I'm starting snare lessons in August. I recently purchased a high tension snare drum from Sound Percussion Labs. The snare sounds great, but doesn't produce the sound I'm looking for. Right now, the snare (out of the box) produces that "rat-a-tat" traditional snare sound. I, however, am searching for that "table top" or "formica" sound that every corps uses now. Not really using the "crank the heck out of the top head" technique, but still a table top corps sound. The snare is currently equipped with a Remo Falams II batter, and a Remo Ambassador Snare Side. It's just a basic clear ambassador. I've heard around that the best combo would be a Remo Black Max batter, and a Falams II snare side. However, since I have a Falams II on the batter already, how would it sound if I kept the current batter, but put a Falams II snare side on the bottom? I fully intend to replace both heads at some point, but can only purchase one at a time for now. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

~KingGreGre

In all honesty, the heads work just fine for now. It might be how the drum is tuned from the heads to the guts themselves. With a Falam 2 batter head, you can get a good amount of tension into it. Almost as much as the old Tendura from Premier. However, really cranking down on a Falam 2 batter head will potentially be bad for longer term wrist health with the harsher 'basket' weave.