As someone who wants to join drum corp in a few years what should I start preparing for now?

I want to join drum corps in a few years hopefully starting with an open class corp but I don't know anyone in drum corp so I was hopping people could tell me what to expect when trying to get into it and what I should prepare for now? Like how expensive is it on average and how much could this affect school? Thanks for any help.

• 3 weeks later...

@Regular trumpet player I spent a total of 4yrs in DCI, and I marched in two Top-12 corps (Velvet Knights – ’86, ’88, ‘89 & Blue Devils 1990), and I was an instructor for 3 seasons for a start-up corps in mid-90s. I haven't been around the activity since then, but I'll try to help, especially with things that may not be obvious. Fortunately, I keep some tips and info saved in a document for when I see someone ask a question like yours. I can paste that into an email if you are interested. When I marched, we did not have social media, the WWW, smartphones, or any of the other tech toys you do now. Still, some things never change. It would help if I knew more specifically what you are interested in knowing. Also, I’d like to know what level of corps you are trying out for. E-mail me at eric2022@outlook.com, which is a temp email address. I’ll keep it open for a couple of weeks unless I start getting a bunch of junk sent to it.

• 2 months later...
  • 2 months later...

Save your money, because drum corps is not cheap and it can be hard to come up with 5 thousand or more dollars when you are going to school and working part time.  The more you can save now the easier it will be !  Open class corps are a bit cheaper, since their tours are shorter.  You will need about 3 grand plus money for spending and camps.  Please take the time to visit the website of each corps you are interested in joining.  They all list their fees so you do not have to guess.  Good luck, I wish you all the best.

Edited by jmc5682
  • Like 1