Jump to content

Why does D.C.I. allow warm ups while another corps is performing?


Recommended Posts

I've often been at shows where the performing corps show is interrupted by music being played by another corps waiting to go on, thus distracting from the performing corps...This is particularly annoying when the performing corps is playing a ballad...I'm sure I'm not alone with this observation...So, is this just the way it is or can something be done to avert this conflict?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

BITD corps were penalized if they were heard warming up during another corps’ performance. I’m not sure if this still applies.

I would think logistics and time dictate when and where a corps warms up. The size of a venue plays a big part in that too.

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 Sutasaurus has it right... DCI has rules in place for practice Corps to distance themselves from the field of competition during shows. Violations of such can... and have on several occasions, even within the last decade.... resulted in penalties to violating Corps in competition that show .

Edited by Boss Anova
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can remember shows where the Cavaliers or Belleville were warming up a ways from the field while our little corps and all of 19 horns were performing. After our number concluded, the crowd roared. We were thrilled. It wasn't until after the show that we found out the noise was for the warm up corps drowning us out. 

  • Haha 8
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, OldSnareDrummer said:

I can remember shows where the Cavaliers or Belleville were warming up a ways from the field while our little corps and all of 19 horns were performing. After our number concluded, the crowd roared. We were thrilled. It wasn't until after the show that we found out the noise was for the warm up corps drowning us out. 

Ooh that’s harsh. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Boss Anova said:

 Sutasaurus has it right... DCI has rules in place for practice Corps to distance themselves from the field of competition during shows. Violations of such can... and have on several occasions, even within the last decade.... resulted in penalties to violating Corps in competition that show .

Didn’t Boston have an issue in Indy a few years ago?  Thought I heard Tony DiCarlo warned or penalized them?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, waliman4444 said:

I've often been at shows where the performing corps show is interrupted by music being played by another corps waiting to go on, thus distracting from the performing corps...This is particularly annoying when the performing corps is playing a ballad...I'm sure I'm not alone with this observation...So, is this just the way it is or can something be done to avert this conflict?

I seem to recall BD in recent memory getting a penalty for not being in the proper warm-up area...

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 hours ago, waliman4444 said:

I've often been at shows where the performing corps show is interrupted by music being played by another corps waiting to go on, thus distracting from the performing corps...This is particularly annoying when the performing corps is playing a ballad...I'm sure I'm not alone with this observation...So, is this just the way it is or can something be done to avert this conflict?

I've been distracted at Allentown shows before...the distraction usually occurs during a ballad or very soft-moment of a show...so you are definitely not alone...I also have been distracted by many spectators talking...using my Allentown example...the crowd..very forcefully I might add...told him to "shut up"....Northerner's are not afraid to tell someone like it is either...lol

Edited by Liahona
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, LabMaster said:

Didn’t Boston have an issue in Indy a few years ago?  Thought I heard Tony DiCarlo warned or penalized them?

Not sure . ‘Might have .  I think BD might have been penalized for this a few years ago . Maybe others can confirm ( or correct me ) on this . 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, Boss Anova said:

Not sure . ‘Might have .  I think BD might have been penalized for this a few years ago . Maybe others can confirm ( or correct me ) on this . 

I think you’re right.  But they won anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...