Lame timpanists? Or lame instructors?

SWriverstone

Qualifications:I'm a professional timpanist and occasional drum corps fan (meaning I dip in and out of drum corps every few years, but don't have time to follow it constantly). I graduated from Juilliard, and have studied timpani with Fred Begun (National Symphony), Saul Goodman (NY Philharmonic) and Roland Kohloff (NY Philharmonic). I've performed (on timpani) with the Colorado Philharmonic, National Repertory Orchestra, Spoleto Festival Orchestra, Venezuela Symphony, and many other ensembles. (Just so nobody accuses me of not knowing what I'm talking about!)

Rant: I'm in Allentown for the DCI East shows. I saw half of the current top 12 last night, and I've got to say that I was generally disappointed in the timpanists for ALL corps. For the record, the best was Greg Tsalikis (I think that's his last name) with the Bluecoats---excellent intonation and good sound...but even he suffered from my general complaint with everyone...

NOT ENOUGH VOLUME!

Somehow---and I have no idea how---pit instructors and arrangers seem to have gotten the notion that timpani are only to be played forte (f) and no louder. This is absurd! A timpanist must have better, stronger chops than any snare, bass or quad player...but I sure didn't see any sign of that last night.

Corps after corps, I watched in dismay as timpanists were completely drowned out by the horns...or (worse) sometimes drowned out by the other pit instruments. I'm a timpanist---I can easily see how much energy a player is putting into the drums by watching the motion of their wrists, arms, and mallet height---and nobody was putting much into it.