Govenaries Announce 2012 Program

| |

Since 1927, the Govenaires have seen almost every phase of modern American drum and bugle corps. They represented St. Peter, Minn. at American Legion competitions during the 1940s and 1950s. They brought down the house at the Drum Corps Midwest championships from 1982 to 2004. And from its formation to the present, the southern Minnesota drum and bugle corps has entertained countless audiences at parades and concerts.

More recently, the corps won the 2006, 2009 and 2011 Drum Corps Associates (DCA) Class A championships. The Govenaires’ streak of exciting, unique programs comes to a fever pitch for its 85th anniversary. Get ready for a scorching drum corps show that never lets up.

Ladies and gentlemen, prepare to get HOT.

It starts out seductive, with the introduction of “Fever,” made famous through the years by Peggy Lee, Madonna and Beyoncé. But the Govenaires soon go all in with Cole Porter’s “Too Darn Hot,” a swinging tune that hasn’t been touched by a drum corps until now. A medley of fire follows, featuring snapshots of the Doors’ “Light My Fire,” Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire” and the Ohio Players’ “Fire.”

The third movement, “Caliente,” combines the loud bravado of a familiar drum corps classic with the subtle mystique of tango. As for the closer, there won’t be much room for subtlety. HOT finishes at a place where the party never ends: the disco. “Hot Lunch” from the musical Fame, Donna Summers’ “Hot Stuff” and the Trammps’ “Disco Inferno” will get the full “Govie” treatment.

If you can’t stand the heat, stay out of St. Peter ….

Corps Director: Sandee Conlin
Drum Majors: John Mayer and Tuna Sjostram
Show Coordinator: Jeffrey Peterson
Brass Arranger: Dennis Argul
Drill Writer: Greg Guffey
Music Director/Brass Consultant: Larry Pawlowski
Brass Caption Head: Jordan Warfield
Percussion Caption Head and Arranger: Lee Krueger
Color Guard Caption Heads: Molly Norton and Jeffrey Peterson
Percussion Consultants: Justin Tollefson, Pat Fitz-Gibbon and Mike Mayer
Color Guard Consultant: Larysa Euteneuer
President: John Mayer
Secretary:Jim Henry
Business Manager: Amber Roeker
Treasurer: Sandee Conlin
Membership Director: Lindsey Wetterhahn
Gambling Manager: Jodie Forrey
Public Relations: Emily Stark and Mike Hanzelka

Contact us at or

Posted by on Wednesday, June 20th, 2012. Filed under Current News, DCA News, FrontPage Feature.