DCI St. Louis

I've never done a review before, but here goes.

Open Class

Music City was the only open class corps of the night, and naturally got first place, with a score of 66.800.

I haven't been to a show in a while, and I haven't seen Open Class corps in a long time. Whenever I did, I always thought they were pretty good, but it was apparent as to why they are in Open Class and not World Class. This was not the case with Music City. To put it simply, I was blown away. Sure, they weren't the greatest marchers (but far from the worst I've ever seen), but they had a very impressive sound. I suppose a full hornline helps.

Their program "Let's Dance" was extremely fun and entertaining. It was pretty much a toe-tapper the whole way through.

As I understand it from several audience members, this was their first show of the season. They could have fooled me. They performed very well.

World Class

Pioneer is celebrating their 50th Anniversary with their program, "Celebrate." They got 7th Place in the World Class division with a score of 62.450.

I don't think what I'm about to say is news to anyone: they are hideously small this year. It's really a shame, especially since they're hitting the big 50 this year. However, despite their small size, they packed quite a punch. They sounded a lot bigger than they actually were. A LOT bigger.

The show didn't really enthrall me, personally. I wanted to like the show, but I just couldn't get into it. My loss, I suppose.

The Cascades are sporting a new look this year. They have a very vibrant neon-green plume, and a vibrant green uniform that fades into a lighter shade of green as you go up the jacket.

"Pandora, a Dark Gift" was, in a word, creepy. The premise was very easy to follow (thanks to the big orange box in the middle). The yellow cubes didn't do a whole lot for me, but I think the overall visual design wouldn't look right without them, so I wont complain.