San Antonio Full Show (LONG)

I am a novice when it comes to drum corps. I've only been aware of its existence for 4 years and this was only my second live show (last year's SW Champs being my first). Thus, my reviews are going to center less on the technical and caption-to-caption aspect and more on how each individual show struck me. Please be nice. When I get to a part in the show that I found particularly stirring, I'll mark it with a (*!*).

I am also a fan of all corps to one degree or another--I have many favorites. Thus I hope my reviews are unbiased.

Another thing: a friend and I got some of the worst seats in the house, right on the end zone, so my perspective of the drills and music may be askew.

Revolution

Score: 74.75

My rank: 23 (open)

Revolution has more than doubled in size since last year, and their new uniforms are immediately reminiscent (some would say "stolen") of the Glassmen. I haven’t seen any other Div II corps, so I am (perhaps unfairly) comparing them to the Div I corps later in the day. The music and drill are harder than last year's, and while it is well performed, the music (Connotations) didn't grab me. The strongest section for Revolution is definitely the percussion. Being from Texas myself I am biased towards them, so I hope to see them pull it off this year.

Madison Scouts

I'll review them with the evening performance.

Southwind

Score: 71.35

My rank: 21 (open)

I honestly don't remember much about them except they were enjoyable; I was still high off of Madison's performance. I do remember that I liked the drill and music (Gayenah Ballet) well enough.

Kiwanis Kavaliers

Score: 72.90

My rank: 20 (open)