How can Drum Corps (or marching music)...

I wanted to discuss this more dynamically, without derailing another thread by getting it off-topic. I'm a composer, and I really like elements of dbc. I would like to see the integration of marching music into the musical collective. But, how do we do it?

Drum corps adapt music of which there may be little reference to the theme and translate it musically and visually so that the listener can interpret it a certain way.

A professional musician would see Star 1993, and say ok, they used Barber's Medea, but so what, because they have heard more avant guard music that drum corps shys away from even today. To them, this shyness and the inability to try to branch out into creating original music makes drum corps little more than brass and percussion jocks playing popular tunes (meaning music people would like) to drill which, while cool, is just an attempt at imitation.

A drum corps member, fan, staff, whatever would see drum corps like movies. A full palette of visual and musical colors to experiment with.

Point is: The next evolution in this activity will be the development of musical repertoire, solely for drum corps. This will be when drum corps is accepted into the fray along with jazz bands, chamber groups, wind ensembles, and orchestras. This is key to the longevity. If drum corps is to survive it must be accepted as an artform in the musical culture.

Along with this, on-field actors and special effects could be used to better accommodate stories or symbolism. I would like to see what a corps could do with a semi-transparent white scrim and a video projector located in the pit. The corps could move behind the scrim and form different patterns in drill, while the video is running of, say, a closeup of a woman's hair blowing in the wind or something.

What do you think?

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic