Appleton Review

OK, here is my FIRST EVER review of any drum corps show, period. So be nice to the rookie, eh??? Seriously, I am just learning how to do this stuff (and it's some work!), so I'd appreciate any feedback you could give me. PM me with any critiques, etc. (don't add them to this forum - it would just clutter up the thread, and embarrass me besides ). Oh, and if you wonder about the lack of references to specific instruments, that's b/c I don't know what the different brass instruments look like (eg, I can't tell a mellophone from a baritone from the stands). So, once again, feel free to PM me any tips you have on that.

Without further ado (but with some trepidation), here it is:

Appleton, Wisconsin 06/08/2002

Intro

The first show of the 2002 season was not without its obstacles to overcome. Typically held at Calder Field in Menasha, the show was moved this year to Fox Valley Lutheran High School in Appleton due to a graduation ceremony. The field had suffered from considerable recent rain, and up to an hour and a half before the show, was not even marked off. But the ground crew did a great job getting everything in shape, and all was ready by the beginning of the show. Attendance was high - the smaller stands at FVL weren't quite up to the task. Ehthusiasm was also high. Many of the fans had been to the Flag day parade downtown earlier in the day, and their appetites were whetted for more.

DCM is experimenting this year with a new judging format. In four of its shows, the judging panel will be a completely "high view" panel - there will be no on-field judges. This show was the first of these "high-field judge" shows.

Exhibition