Baritone/Euphonium Mouthpieces

GCityVet

In the years that I have marched baritone, I have used a Denis Wick 4AL mouthpiece, which had the shank of a 3G, when playing on the Yamaha horns and when I played on the small bore Dynastys with the Glassmen, they made us play on a Bach Megatone5GS(some of us cheated and used Schilke 52DD's for a while, I personally liked the Megatone 6 1/2AL).

I'd like to know what works best for you baritone players out there.

• 2 weeks later...

I am not a baritone player by profession but have played it from time to time and also have done a bit of teaching on it for a while as well. I have found that for a hornline, the standard Bach 6 1/2 AL or Schilke 51D has had the most success. Personally, I don't like the feel of the rim or the sound that is produced on those mouthpieces. I have recently purchased some other mouthpieces to try on the baritone I am play testing from the Blue Stars and have been pleased with the results.

I have used the following for the Baritone bugle and liked the sound:

Bach 4 (baritone shank)

Bach 3 (baritone shank)

Denis Wick "Steve Mead" 4 (baritone shank)

and a Bach 5 GS.

The Bach mouthpieces all got a good rounded sound with a little brilliance at the louder dynamics. The Wick maintained its rich sound across the dynamic range as well as its intonation from top to bottom. I noticed that the bari line from the Cavaliers were playing on a "Steve Mead" model mouthpiece but not sure of the size. The 4 is the largest one that is made in the baritone shank.

My suggestion would be the Wick "Steve Mead" 4 in a bari shank, or a Steve Mead in a large shank for Euphoniums.

Just an opinion.

• 1 month later...