SCV in San Diego

Hey all,

I spent the day in Valley Center, CA with the Vanguard yesterday, and I thought I might share a few thoughts. I visited all sections of the corps for about half an hour each, then watched them ensemble for about an hour and a half. Here are my first impressions:

First up was the percussion. I was a noob to corps in '97 and right off the bat fell in love with Cassella's writing and how his lines played. As I walked to the edge of the field they were rehearsing on, it was clear the percussion section was drastically different, both in the way they approached their drums and pit equipment as well as the resulting sound. Rehearsal was a bit more loose than I'm used to seeing, but the staff and kids are doing a great job. It seems as though they're all still getting used to each other, and though they don't have the swagger of recent past SCV lines, they are strong and will be near the top when it's all said and done.

I made my way over to the gock block sound coming from another field and found the guard. Though quite dirty in most places, their show is FULL, and that's way more than can be said for last year; I think they didn't finish til almost San Antonio or something. April Gilligan was running the reherasal from up top. I'd seen her only at show warm-ups with the Cadets and first thought of her as tough and unrelenting. She is tough, unrelenting, and drives them hard, though unlike many who teach in that style, never becomes impersonal or condescending. They have a whole lot of cleaning to do, but given who's at the helm and the way the kids were responding, that entertaining and deep guard book is definitely within reach.