Cymbal Advice?

brivette

Hello everyone.

Currently, I'm in charge of putting together a list of some cymbals to buy for the high school marching band's pit i help instruct and arrange for. I'm not an expert on cymbals, but I know what kind i'm looking for and I know i'm on a budget! Nothing to Expensive. This is what I need:

3 crash cymbals (different sounds)

1 china

1 splash

This is the list I of cymbals I compiled that I think would be best for us, but I want to know what you guys think!

Thanks!

- Sabian B8 16" Thin Crash

- Wuhan 16" China

- Sabian AAX 16" Stage Crash

- Zildjian A Custom 10" Custom Splash

- Zildjian ZXT 16" Thin Crash

I would look into the Zildjian A Orchestral Suspended cymbals instead of drumset crash cymbals. There a bunch of different sizes and weights. Sabian also has some hand hammered suspended cymbals I like.

These are not that expensive. They are more expensive then what you listed though.

Okay... Thanks for the advice.

I would add a pair of Sabian Orchestral 18" crash cymbals, depending on the brand, 16" cymbals can seem too tiny of a sound, a thin pair of 18" cymbals wouldn't weight much more, and would give a fuller sound.

Just my $4.37

I would be careful with the thinner cymbals period, as they can take one heck of a beating...

I would also recommend an 18" china (I got a wuhan china for ~$30)

Besides that, looks like you have a good variety of sounds there.

I would add a pair of Sabian Orchestral 18" crash cymbals, depending on the brand, 16" cymbals can seem too tiny of a sound, a thin pair of 18" cymbals wouldn't weight much more, and would give a fuller sound.

Just my $4.37

I know we're holding out on buying a pair of crash cymbals, but i will take your advice on 18".

Thanks.

I would be careful with the thinner cymbals period, as they can take one heck of a beating...

I would also recommend an 18" china (I got a wuhan china for ~$30)

Besides that, looks like you have a good variety of sounds there.