Richmond, KY - Drums Across the BLUEgrass

Once a season or so......twice sometimes......I feel led to post a show review and since no one has been here with remarks about the Richmond, KY Drums Across the BLUEgrass show July 1 yet, I thought I'd go ahead and wade in. I say BLUEgrass because we had a trifecta of the blue corps present.........only the Blue Devils missed out on the fun.

For starters, Who am I and why do I think I can write a show review? Fair enough. I marched Junior Corps for a couple of seasons 25 years ago, my wife marched for three seasons in the late 1980's. Together we marched a season of senior corps 'for old times sake' in 2003. Beyond this, I have a Bachelors Degree in Music Education, performed for three years in a US Army Band, and I have been a tour volunteer driving buses for junior corps anywhere from two weeks to all summer for 17 of the 24 summers since ageing-out. Whether on-tour or just in the stands at DCI and DCA shows, I have remained a fan of the activity throughout. Important to add that I am a brass player and my focus, understandibly, is on the hornlines. Percussionists and guard folks, I'm sorry but I don't have much that will hold your interest.

Here we go - The weather last night was absolutely perfect for a drum corps show. Temperature was in the low 70's. There were just a few puffy clouds on the horizon but the skies were blue. The stifling humidity often found in the Ohio Valley during the summer was noticeably absent. I cannot remember the last time I was at a show where the weather was so perfect.......I'm thinking maybe somewhere on a Drum Corps Midwest Tour back in the mid-90's.