How difficult is it?

What is the standard for division 1 pits during the audition? I want to audition for either Carolina Crown's pit or Boston for the 2009 season. I Am 15 and I think I'm ok with mallets, but I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on what the "big guys" look for in auditionees. Is it based only on skill or what? I am new to the drum corps world, so I feel a little clueless and lost right now.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Practice as much as you possibly can, and be confidant at auditions.

What is the standard for division 1 pits during the audition? I want to audition for either Carolina Crown's pit or Boston for the 2009 season. I Am 15 and I think I'm ok with mallets, but I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on what the "big guys" look for in auditionees. Is it based only on skill or what? I am new to the drum corps world, so I feel a little clueless and lost right now.

I can't speak for the technicalities of what each corps will ask for in an audition but here 's a list of general things that I think will fit most groups.

1. Desire

A kid with super chops and no work ethic is useless compared to a kid with a good work ethic and no attitude.

2. Know your scales

3. Know some good four mallet exercises to show that you have control

4. Know your rudiments

Even though your not playing a battery instrument, those basics will help you immensely with your speed, control, and stamina. It will also help your ear as you listen back. If you can play it you can play with it.

Tap Space publications sells a book directed to front ensembles that would be good for you. Its kind of expensive but its very good. I marched with one of the authors in the early 90's.

http://www.tapspace.com/upfront.html

good luck!

Making it is just one thing to accomplish.

You must also be prepared to haul heavy equipment every single day of the hot summer and load and unload your equipment about 2 times a day.