Marching snare tilt.

RevPit08

I recently decided to experiment with tilting my high school's snares. Does anyone have any tips, warnings, or other help for tilted snares? I've never tried it before, but I like the look and playability that comes with it. Thanks for any help.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hang a snare with a sling and try to mimic the angle. Down from left to right and slightly lower in front, like the Blue Knights. OR Just make a nice natural angle, easiest way for your kids to play.

I recently decided to experiment with tilting my high school's snares. Does anyone have any tips, warnings, or other help for tilted snares? I've never tried it before, but I like the look and playability that comes with it. Thanks for any help.

Dont let your players give in to the urge to "Elevate" the left hand. Alot of people try that right off the bat.

Dont let thier hands come any higher than the sticks in position.

also make sure the drums are all perfectly level prior to applying the tilt. having a bunch of different drum angles kills the aesthetic behind it.

good luck!

T

I maintain that the only advantage [such as it may be] to carrier-tilted snares is that you can somewhat more easily do left stick/rim shots and, conversely, do them somewhat less easily with the right stick. But nothing else.

Having started drum corps on snare with slings and leg rests in 1965, adding Ludwig’s “Angle Reduction Bar” in 1968, and eventually switching to carriers, to me the carrier-tilted head trend is nothing more than a visual effect. Tilted snares look slightly different than non-tilted snares. That's all.