Night of Magic

Although I am a veteran drum corps watcher, I don't consider myself an expert. So think of this more as a recap than a review.

Good weather for Night of Magic, held at Lake Howell High School in Winter Park, just northeast of Orlando. There was even a breeze and no complaints about the heat in the stands. See, it can be tolerable here.

Should be an interesting year for Magic. They won't sneak up on anyone this year. There was lots of talk about last year being "Cinderella" and this year being "Prince Charming."

Magic is marching a full corps. They said there are 32 guard members and I counted 32 percussionists.

The corp uniforms are the same as last year. They performed without hats Saturday. The guard had just received their unis that day: lycra jumpers, I would say purple with aqua/turquoise swath through the midsection, off the shoulderish for the females, sleeveless/short sleeved for the guys. It makes for a well-coordinated look.

I arrived early and saw a run-through. Because the stands are only 15 rows or so high and because a very focused staff member stood right in front of me, design was hard to see. I do recall being impressed during the run-through with how sure-footed the members appear: they know where they're going.

The opener is very soft. The players have what i believe are called "vibrant chimes" (help me out here) to good effect. I hear that corps have used them before, but not to this extent -- Magic is using 85 of them. Still, I had to wonder how that would play in a large stadium. They are still working on the transition for getting the chimes put away. (During the run-through, someone with the megaphone said "work in progress, work in progress, work in progress.")