Hornline Kids on the Sidelines?

Hi you guys! I am the visually impaired kid that marches corps. I am now studying music in university. My major is trumpet performance and my minor is piano performance. I still play timpani alot though. I was just wondering, does DCI allow kids to play trumpet on the sidelines? I am interested in playing horn in corps this year.

Hi you guys! I am the visually impaired kid that marches corps. I am now studying music in university. My major is trumpet performance and my minor is piano performance. I still play timpani alot though. I was just wondering, does DCI allow kids to play trumpet on the sidelines? I am interested in playing horn in corps this year.

Hey! CourtOfHonorMember

I would suggest stick with being a Timpani Member for the Front Ensemble. Since you play it before and have probably more experience in that instrument then do you on the trumpet.

B) :worthy: :)

Allee,

Talk to a corps or two or more. If you truely want to play trumpet in a drum corps, then I'm sure there is something that can be worked out. If a man with only one arm can march in a division 1 corps, then I'm sure there are possibilities out there for other's who do not have the full capabilities that a majority of people have.

Again, talk to a few corps.

Best of luck :)

You would probably have to be one of the best trumpeters of the group your in. I don't think they could have you be featured for most of the show if you are not one of the soloist. The physics of your sound and stationary placement would have to be studied because you are going to be more easily heard from a crowd standpoint by playing on the front sideline...you will also have a tendence to be out of time compared to the ensemble behind you and your pitch may have the tendency to be sharper than the rest of the brassline. Just a few thoughts...I would stick with timpani for the marching season because you have experience and most likely would have more fun and be more relaxed.