What happened to matched grip?

Gaddabout

I was introduced to traditional grip -- BD style -- back in the early 80s when there was a split between corps and grip. SCV snares, for example, famously used matched grip.

Watching videos from this year I have yet to see a corps use matched grip on snares. Maybe I've missed a corps, but wondering what happened between way back then and now. Back then the prevailing theory was traditional grip would die out (since the harness was invented and nobody slung their drums anymore) and everyone would be using matched.

But that didn't happen. It's gone the other direction. Even stranger, more and more set players are using traditional (and a lot of them look self-taught, sadly).

What gives?

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I was introduced to traditional grip -- BD style -- back in the early 80s when there was a split between corps and grip. SCV snares, for example, famously used matched grip.

Watching videos from this year I have yet to see a corps use matched grip on snares. Maybe I've missed a corps, but wondering what happened between way back then and now. Back then the prevailing theory was traditional grip would die out (since the harness was invented and nobody slung their drums anymore) and everyone would be using matched.

But that didn't happen. It's gone the other direction. Even stranger, more and more set players are using traditional (and a lot of them look self-taught, sadly).

What gives?

Thankfully, matched grip went away.

Somewhere along the line,

People became ignorant and got in in their heads that Matched grip is "Easier".

Apparently the rules of physics and the application disappear when you hold both hands the same way.

There is nothing harder about traditional grip.

I wish people would just admit that they like the aesthetic look of Traditional grip before congratulating themselves on how hard the style is to play.