12 members have voted

1. 1. i need help learning baritone desperately

• i need youre help desperately
    • im new to this site

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Pretty simple solution; find yourself a baritone bass clef beginner's book, which should have a fingering chart in it somewhere. Start out writing in all the fingerings, and over time you'll get used to the music enough you won't have to do that anymore. That's how I learned treble clef.

Same here. I went to my first Blue Stars camp completely clueless about baritone (I'm traditionally a tenor/bass trombone player). By the end of the year I was fine. It's not that difficult to pick up, atlhough it's probably different going from baritone BC to baritone TC.

Hey some things never change. I was a High School trombone player (what's a fingering?) when I started playing piston/rotor bari back in 1973. Like one of the other folks said, just grab a fingering chart, a pencil and your music and start marking the fingerings over the notes. You would be surprised how many people started this way. As you go over the marked music you will start retaining the fingerings.

Here is the link to Degs Fingering Chart for 3 valve bugles:

http://www.degmusic.com/home/buglefingerchart.pdf

Good luck to ya,

Jim

I started on baritone in the 6th grade. Went to Highschool and found out Not all baritone parts are bass clef. You can transpose it to Treble. Also Yamaha Band Books. They have a pretty decent Begginers Baritone Books from my experience with them.

also this site is pretty good about info.

Tuba-Euph Site Thingy

Edited by BrassChic2004

Good luck to ya,

Jim

Ooops my apologies, this link is a fingering chart for G bugles. My guess is that Pacific Crest uses Bb horns because they are a Jr corps. If you use this chart it will REALLY add to the confusion which you don't need. Just chalk up my mistake to my age and Sr background. :huh:

Best of luck from one Bari to another...