Calling all Mellophones

Winter sets in, and one looks for ways to improve ones sound. Last year I bought a Dyasty on eBay, and instantly fell in love with playing all over again. Difference between now and when I was playing many years ago, I have a few dollars to buy MORE horns..LOL...

So I ask ye brother and sister Mellophones (we all know we are in a fraternity of our own, but don't tell that to those squeaky sops - LOL), What is your experience with either, which do you like better, and for what reasons?

Of course my wife thinks I am crazy owning two horns now, but the other one is my original horn from my 78 DCI days in North Star, and there is no way I will part with that valve and rotary and all!

G or F??

For a G mellophone, my favorite is the Kanstul.

For an F Mellophone, the best is the Yamaha 204.

I also definately like Kanstul for G.

I just started playing on an F and it's a king. To be quite honest, I really, REALLY did not like the F AT FIRST, but playing next to this guy Paul who plays in Capital Brass and listening to the sound he produced on that horn, I had to stick with it and I'm getting used to it, but I can't compare it to any other brand, YET :) .

It's funny Rick what you said about your rotary valve because I have one from my Iggy days and then I have a two piston from my iggy days and now I play the F and G, but I can't play the F and then pick up the G and play. I get all screwed up!!!

Either way, G OR F, KANSTUL OR DYNASTY I LOVE THE MELLOPHONE (OR HORN :lol: )

I also definately like Kanstul for G.

I just started playing on an F and it's a king. To be quite honest, I really, REALLY did not like the F AT FIRST, but playing next to this guy Paul who plays in Capital Brass and listening to the sound he produced on that horn, I had to stick with it and I'm getting used to it, but I can't compare it to any other brand, YET :) .