College and Drum Corps

I had a question regarded starting college and drum corps. So I'm finally looking at colleges and applying and stuff, and I was just wondering: Will it mess up my ability to get ready for college. As in: registering for classes, orientation days, and things like this. I'm hoping that it won't mess me up or anything because I really want to try-out for a corps. I would just like to hear from someone who marched corps recently the summer before their freshman year in college. Thanks for your help.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't know if it will mess up anything with your college scheduling, but I will tell you one thing. I marched in '04 and didn't march in '05. I'm a freshman in college now, and I regret not marching this past summer. My suggestion is to plan ahead as much as possible to get all that stuff out of the way so you can march. You won't regret it. Granted, education comes first, but if you can finish those things before you leave you can enter into the summer with nothing in your head except drum corps. Here is to hoping it all works out.

I'm glad he had asked these questions, because I had the same concerns.

For me it's a bit easier, since the corps I'm planning to march with is not too far from the University.

I'm marching this coming summer, and I'm a senior in high school too. As I understand it, most colleges don't have orientation until after the season is over seeing as they start in late August. If not, make arrangements with the corps to see if it is possible to miss a couple days of tour to go and come back :)

I know lots of people (who marched with me) who had to make calls home w/their mom on the cell phone tryign to get their classes for them. OR they just had to wait until add/drop periods to TRY to get the classes.