Spring Preview - The Ship Has Sailed

OK.... sorry 'bout the title of the thread..... I'm not very good at the nautical references.....LOL

After the drive home to Baltimore, a few thoughts about Saturday night's Spring Preview concert: (The older I get, the more I need to write stuff down right away, before I wake up and forget where I was!!!! B) Also, my apologies in advance if I don't mention every corps participating.)

First of all, I knew it was going to be a good day from the time my ride up from Baltimore started..... I cranked up the 40's Channel on XM satellite radio, and the first tune on was "ChiriBiriBin," the theme song for the incomparable Harry James. If you've never listened to this tune, check it out some day.....IMO, Mr. James delivers one of the most amazing displays of trumpet playing you'll ever hear. Dude could flat-out get it done!!!!!

But I digress....on to the show stuff:

Buccaneers Alumni, from my back-stage perspective, were the biggest and best they've been in several years. Full, balanced sound, nicely done. And Jay Landis looks pretty good in a tuxedo, if you ask me.... however, no one did. :P

Is there a more famous ending to a drum corps tune than the finale of the Yankee Rebels' "Requiem for an Era?" Perhaps not. A truly timeless piece of music.

The NY Skyliners competition corps had more people on stage this year than at last year's Spring Preview, and that's a good thing.... they could still use a few more horns and drums, but the ones they had sounded pretty solid from where I was standing.