What No Clifton Review?

Just Curious .... B)

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Just Curious .... B)

Didn't get to see all the corps but Cabs and Cabs Alumni were awesome. I am still new to DCA and Saturday was the first time I have seen Cabs. Total classic act, I really dug both the current and Alumni corps.

(See the Dover show reviews for numbers of instrumentalists)

First up was the Hurricanes. Their show theme is "Jesus Christ Superstar." The Hurricanes have a great soprano soloist who really amps up the crowd. The drumline plays a lot of notes, more like a traditional corps, but the snares (especially) had some execution problems. The tenors, (only two) however, were on target most of the show. The Hurricanes gaurd is young and talented. The gaurd seemed to handle its equipment well and did a great job with the theme. AND, they fit into their uniforms!!! Truthfully, I think the corps did a nice job with a musical selection that did not seem to excite the audience.

Carolina Gold followed the Hurricanes. They are a nice mid-size corps. The Gold plays a Tower of Power funk show. As before, the funk wasn't quite funky, (more pit?) but the audience was buzzing when they were done. With a competant brass line of around 35, the Gold has a great soprano soloist who doesn't seem to march the drill or even wear the uniform. That seems a bit strange, (injured?) but this guy can play. I think the Gold's drumline executed worse here than in Dover. They are clearly a "young" line and they don't have the quality of sound that some of the mature lines possess. A lot of their exposed phrases sounded murky-particularly in the tenors (tuning issues?). The Color Guard was ok, but not outstanding. Overall, the Gold seems to be an audience favorite, (I'm really digging them) but it will take a bit for them to mature as a playing (read: scores) unit. (I think they were fairly recently a mini-corps, so the improvement is pretty amazing).