Skin cancer and drum corps

Hello Former Corp Members!!

I am a physician working at the Kaiser Deer Valley Dermatology Department in Antioch, California. Many years ago I marched with the Anaheim Kingsmen (1982). Since then I have remained interested in drum and bugle corp especially since the Blue Devils are local. One question I have thought about. Does all the sun exposure we get while marching and drilling lead to a higher incidence skin cancer?. If the hypothesis is true, then more aggressive sun protection may help future generations of drum corp performers.

I would be interested in hearing from ex- corp members who are in their 30's or above. If you do have a history of skin cancer or precancerous skin lesions let me know and tell me your experiences (anonymously is okay). If I get enough responders I'm considering doing a formal survey to get better statistics.

Thanks much and hope to hear from you.

Lance Gee MD

Concord, CA

lance.a.gee@kp.org

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am a physician working at the Kaiser Deer Valley Dermatology Department in Antioch, California. Many years ago I marched with the Anaheim Kingsmen (1982). Since then I have remained interested in drum and bugle corp especially since the Blue Devils are local. One question I have thought about. Does all the sun exposure we get while marching and drilling lead to a higher incidence skin cancer?. If the hypothesis is true, then more aggressive sun protection may help future generations of drum corp performers.

I would be interested in hearing from ex- corp members who are in their 30's or above. If you do have a history of skin cancer or precancerous skin lesions let me know and tell me your experiences (anonymously is okay). If I get enough responders I'm considering doing a formal survey to get better statistics.

Lance Gee MD

Concord, CA

lance.a.gee@kp.org