A little help on snare stuff

i started playing snare about 2 months ago and i made my hs drumline callbacks. when i pratice some times i get a sharp pain in my left index knuckle (the one right nest to the stick)

i was wondering if there is a way prevent that?? plz help

oh and our griping style is L. Traditional R. american

i started playing snare about 2 months ago and i made my hs drumline callbacks. when i pratice some times i get a sharp pain in my left index knuckle (the one right nest to the stick)

i was wondering if there is a way prevent that?? plz help

oh and our griping style is L. Traditional R. american

It's kinda like tennis elbow,..................keep playng!

Inside or outside of the knuckle (against the stick side or upper side)? Sounds like you may be tensing up, which will cause pain every time. That said, there's also going to be soreness as your hands adjust to doing things you've never had to do before as well.

Make sure your grip is correct each time, and be sure to stay relaxed. If you do that, any pain you have will go away with time and repetition.

Mike

Inside or outside of the knuckle (against the stick side or upper side)? Sounds like you may be tensing up, which will cause pain every time. That said, there's also going to be soreness as your hands adjust to doing things you've never had to do before as well.

Make sure your grip is correct each time, and be sure to stay relaxed. If you do that, any pain you have will go away with time and repetition.

Mike

its on the stick side

Edited by Christian Whitney