Question about older drum corps

I'm kind of new to Drum Corps, my High School band director just introduced me to the world of drum corps a year ago, and I've been fixated ever since. I love listening and watching the older videos. But I do have a question that I noticed from a Madison '81 picture that I found.

http://southwind.org/photos/album/categori.../7107_mad81.jpg

Why is that Corp(or what I believe to be another Corp) in the backround? I heard that there was some sort of rule or regulation, but I'm not sure what it was. It would be nice if somebody would answer my question.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you are talking about the Corps on the track, in the olden days, we would start to set up "off the line" either from the end zone (REAL olden days), or the side line which we could start doing I believe in '74. Of course we couldn't go over the lines until the Corps ahead of us was finished (Penalty...Bad). It expediated the process of the show I guess.

What was cool about it was that you got an opportunity to see the last 1/3 of the show of the Corps that was on the field up close and personal. I have alot of favorite "Exits" (Ballads) from the Corps that went on ahead of us.

Also you notice the kids seated in the stands in the Back. We used to be able to go to those "cheap seats" when we were done with our show and enjoy everyone elses. Too Bad DCI doesn't let the kids do that now. Guess it looks too "muddled" on their tapes.

And who would have thought then that from 1 guy and 4 kettle drums up front, we would go to lord knows how many "Pit People" now.

Edited by MsBusDriver

Thanks for the info! That must have been cool being able to actually see other corps perform during the season. I've talked too friends of mine tha are in drum corp now, and they hardly ever get to see the other corps competing.