Cadets flag feature

Did anyone else notice the dance/flag solo in the Cadets show? I believe it was in "A Boy Like That"? I am a drummer and don't really know the technical side of guard, however, I was drawn into this feature every time I saw the 2009 Cadets. The young lady in the Cadets moved and spun with such precision and grace that it wowed me each time I saw it. What a wonderful design element in the Cadets show.

I agree. A friend of mine (designer/instructor for numerous top Calidornia guards) was going on about this feature being possibly the longest continuous flag statement he has ever seen in a show. And it was wonderfully written and performed.

Jeff Sacktig mentioned (on his commentary on Fan Network) that the end of that feature is particularly challenging for the guard as the corps is not playing in a tempo for 15 seconds or so while the last note is being held on the final impact. The guard virtually has no aural tempo to spin the flags to so they each have to visually look to the person at the front of the line to keep their spins in tempo across the guard. AMAZING!!!

Did anyone else notice the dance/flag solo in the Cadets show? I believe it was in "A Boy Like That"? I am a drummer and don't really know the technical side of guard, however, I was drawn into this feature every time I saw the 2009 Cadets. The young lady in the Cadets moved and spun with such precision and grace that it wowed me each time I saw it. What a wonderful design element in the Cadets show.

WHICH flag feature? The Cadets spin so much flag it's intimidating...

There were actually two solos at the same time in Boy Like That/I Have a Love, weren't there? A boy and a girl, one with green, one with orange. They each do separate solos and then come together when the split guard pairs up as well.