BFBS

I was reading a blog called Uni Watch today, and the latest post got me thinking. You can read it too, here. Basically BFBS means Black For Black's Sake, and refers to sports teams who add black to their uniform even though black was never one of their team colors. The Mets are the given example, and plenty of other teams like the Eagles and Athletics appear in the examples below:

4527461252_fc91cf8dba_o.jpg

That got me thinking about the marching arts. I've seen this phenomenon quite clearly in marching band, as just about every band out there has added more black to their look, more than a few even going to all-black. Even my own alma mater switched to new uniforms not long after I graduated, which were all black but for a little blue on most of the tunic.

Certainly we've seen the same occur in drum corps. You could go all the way back to the Blue Devils in the late 80's for examples, maybe even before that. What examples can you think of where a corps added black just for the sake of adding black? What do you think about those examples, thumbs up or thumbs down?

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Black will be last year's avocado. :tongue:

visual dirt is always easier to hide in black pants/shoes.....its also a easy to hide dirt in white pants/shoes but not as effective as black.

My high school band director was a genius...we had 2 pairs of pants for our uniform....we always wore white shoes but we had black pants for football games and white pants for competitions.

2 thoughts: