Henry Mancini's Peter Gunn?

So I'm not a musician (though I played one on the field for a couple of years), but I'm wondering if anyone's ever thought of doing the music from Peter Gunn as a show? I know VK did bits of it, but I was thinking something more in the spirit of the show's music (i.e., not campy). Some of the tracks from soundtrack really move such as Blue Steel, the show theme of course, and Fallout!, while there are also some great ballads.

Like I said, I know nothing about how "appropriate" a song is for drum corps (or what goes into the decision-making process when putting a show together), but every time Henry Mancini's soundtrack pops up on shuffle the thought occurs to me that it would be cool if a corps could do a show with that music.

Henry Mancini's music is a double-edged sword. It set a standard of ultra-sophistication for a generation, but at the same time he was catering to the lounge crowd with super-corn-syrupy arrangements with a good dose of schlock. It's all since become fodder for Muzak, so it's hard for modern listeners to distinguish the good stuff from the schlock unless you listen to it a lot.

Film composers know the good stuff, and they constantly copy the more sophisticated style of Pink Panther for a spy movie score or Breakfast at Tiffany's for a romantic comedy score. I think there's plenty of original material for an interesting corps show of Mancini's music, though the rights to it may be prohibitive (which may be why the style is copied so much).

My favorite Mancini theme is probably Charade (a highly entertaining movie: the best film Hitchcock never made), which no corps seems to have played since the 1960s. But some Gunn would be nice, too.

Edited by N.E. Brigand

Interesting trivia: the pianist on the original recording of the Peter Gunn theme was John Williams, not then known as a composer.

• Like 1