What is the goal of the show?

Please take this seriously as I am new to this activity and really don't know the answer. I have been to several shows and followed these forums.

There are shows that are executed skillfully and played eloquently, but do not entertain the crowd except for people with a lot of music knowledge.

There are shows that are entertaining, but not as technically difficult or as well-performed.

There are the rare shows that are both. I thought the Caveliers at San Antonio accomplished both.

Which are the judges scoring? How are these aspects figured into the scoring?

Thanks for any advice you can give without making fun of me!!

dks

Depends on the corps you ask. A vast majority of the corps are out only to please the judges while some go out only to entertain.

The best corps entertain while exhibiting their technical abilities - but that is a razor thin line to walk.

Depends on the corps you ask. A vast majority of the corps are out only to please the judges while some go out only to entertain.