Why college football has parity

Television.

There have been lots of crazy upsets in college football this year. Aside from Louisiana St., all of the usual national championship contenders are out of the picture, and Kansas (Kansas??) is in it. One of the reasons that some of the experts are giving for all of the parity this year is due to TV. There are alot more college football games on TV now than there were 20 or even 10 years ago. Every Division 1-A (now called FBS) team on average now has more of their games televised than before. Back in the 90's when I was a student at Western Michigan University, the only way I got to see the Broncos play was if I was at Waldo Stadium in Kalamazoo. This year, I got to see them play 2 or 3 times on ESPN2 or Comcast Local. On saturday, there are games practically all day long on ABC, CBS, ESPN, ESPN2, Fox Sports Net, NBC (just Notre Dame home games), and lots of regional networks. As I'm typing this, I'm watching Akron vs. Miami. More teams on TV more often means more schools that seem like a great place for a top football recruit to go play football. So the talent gets spread around more evenly.

DCI, on the other hand, doesn't have the demand that college football does to be on TV. That's not news to anyone here, of course. If only DCI had more than 2 hours of TV time. Then maybe they could show more of the lower-tiered WC corps and the OC corps. This could have the same effect that it has possibly had on college football. More corps on TV could mean more corps that seem like a great place to march for a young musician or guard person, spreading the talent around more evenly. As it sits right now, there seems to be a "top 6 or bust" attitude by many people interested in marching drum corps. They try out for a top corps and either make it and march there, or they get cut and march nowhere.

What do you all think?

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic