French horns. what a sound

I remember the wonderful sound produced by drum corps when the French horn was used.

Would you like to see it make a come back? thoughts..comments... and why did it disappear anyway?

I remember the wonderful sound produced by drum corps when the French horn was used.

Would you like to see it make a come back? thoughts..comments... and why did it disappear anyway?

The French Horn never disappeared........it's just laying low.

Aside from several parade and alumni corps, the Renegades AND So Cal Dream fielded french horns competitively in 2010.

To answer the question - Yes, absolutely! I'm a drummer and I can tell you that nothing mellophonic can produce the smooth, timbre of a good french horn section. The tone and richness blows the mellophones off the charts. But, that is just my opinion. I know what I like.

If I remember prior threads on the subject, french horns were abandoned by many instructors since they felt that it is easier to teach a beginner to play the mellophone with basically a soprano/trumpet mouthpiece instead of going for the full, rich sound of a frenchie using a tiny and difficult to control french horn mouthpiece.

With Sky, starting in 1969, Hy used a mid-range section of 9 french horns and 3 mellos utilizing 3 separate parts, to produce a great sound and blend with the rest of the hornline configuration. Many others just put the french horns in storage and just utilized the mellophone as their mid-range horn.

I'm sure that some of the many french horn afficionados, such as HornsUp, G horns, Duke Cornwell and Fran Haring, will chime in with more fact than I am able to do.

But again, it's just my humble opinion, but there is definitely NOTHING like the smooth, rich sound of a section of french horns. Mellos just ain't the same.

Ray

Shouldn't you ask, "Do you want G bugles back?" before asking, "Do you want French horn bugles back?" Can't have one without the other.

Edited by Hrothgar15