DCI 1982

Hey all,

as a gift for my b-day, I got the 1982 DCI Legacy DVD. 1982 was the first time I had ever seen the "Big Boys" of drum corps. Although I had been marching since 1979, we had pretty much competed in and around Quebec.

So, at the ripe old age of 14, I competed in my first DCI championships (we got 12th in A class) and attended my first DCI finals at the Olympic stadium. The memories I kept from that night are etched into my brain. And finally being able to relive those moments with the '82 DVD were too much fun.

So here's my rambling stream of consciousness mini-review:

GENERAL COMMENTS

1) Wow, did we ever have alot of hair in those days

2) Is it just me, or were glasses HUGE - they covered the entire face :huh:

3) Drill seems so ssssslllllooooowwwwwww compared to today

4) Drum lines rocked back then

5) Flag lines were kind of the forgotten step-child left in back of the corps to do right slams

6) Seeing xylophone players carrying their instruments and rocking out as they play is hilarious

7) Using one set of flags for the whole show is boring and didn't anyone ever get rid of sails back then

SPIRIT OF ATLANTA

It's a pretty cool show music wise, and the flag line almost jazz runs at the start of the show. Nothing really struck me with this show - except for those pill box hats the guard wore with the netting in front. Weren't those annoying to see through????

CAVALIERS

This is the show that made me want to march there (and I did 6 years later). I don't know why. I mean they were 11th, they weren't the "it" corps back then, but I thought that they were the greatest thing since sliced bread. The opening drill is cool (especially for '82). The geometric patterns that intertwine are a glimpse of things to come.