Taking care of your body

Does anyone have any suggestions on good shoes to rehearse in for the summer? I'm a tenor drummer so putting the extra weight on my ankles for 10+ hours a day really takes its toll on my legs. How have you guys found ways to preserve your body and get through tour? (Not limited to shoe suggestions)

New balance cross trainers. Made in US as well.

Try the 608 series or higher. If you can get to a New Balance company store, the quality is a bit better. stores.newbalance.com

928's are amazing!!!

Edited by xandandl

I have a feeling that a lot of answers you'll get will hinge on people's loyalty towards one particular brand, but anyway ...

- As someone who did DCI/DCA for many years as a euph/contra player, I usually stuck with Adidas, specifically anything that uses their "Bounce" style of outsoles, which are pretty much solid rubber and non-segmented. I've used Mana Bounce shoes for a while and they've been fantastic: very breathable, with comfortable yet solid outsole support.

They recently came out with "Alpha Bounce" shoes, which seem like fancier versions of the previous types.

- I've had tremendous luck as far as never having to deal with ankle issues, or any leg issues for that matter. Based on talking to members/instructors, the one -- albeit recent -- common thing is an apparent correlation between ankle injuries and minalmist running shoes. If you're carrying tenors, I'd say minimalist shoes are a definite non-starter.

This article attempts to explain what qualifies as a "minimalist" running shoe, but doesn't really list any examples. Basically: I would avoid anything super-lightweight with segmented outsoles ... or those stupid Vibram Five Fingers.

- If you can find a way to pack a cheap pair of "back up" shoes, do it. It helps to have an extra dry pair for those rainy days or for "swamp tour" in Mississippi or Louisiana.